E-Paper বাংলা
2024-05-27 21:54:09

Upazila Polls: EC orders withdrawal of four OCs

Online Desk

Upazila Polls: EC orders withdrawal of four OCs

The Election Commission (EC) ordered Inspector General of Police (IGP) to withdraw four Officers-in-Charge (OCs) from Chattogram division due to their controversial records to ensure a free, fair and neutral election of the sixth upazila parishad polls, UNB reported.

A media release signed by Md Mizanur Rahman, deputy secretary (current charge) of the EC confirmed on Monday.

In the release, the IGP was ordered to withdraw OCs of Chattogram’s Anowara and Chandanaish police stations Mohammad Sohel and Obaiduil Islam respectively.

Moreover, OCs of Cumilla’s Debidwar and Chandpur’s Faridganj police stations were included in the list of withdrawal, it reads.

The IGP was ordered to attach the four OCs with the Deputy Inspector General (DIG) office and inspectors (investigation) of the police stations were also ordered to perform duty till May 31, according to the release.

Additionally, the EC decided that the OC of Dumki police station in Patuakhali will be attached to the office of the DIG office until the election is completed.

The inspector (investigation) of that station will assume the responsibilities in the interim.


Latest News