E-Paper বাংলা
2024-05-23 11:56:08

Ministerial candidates suffer defeats in Upazila polls

Staff Reporter

Ministerial candidates suffer defeats in Upazila polls

Several current and former ministerial candidates faced defeat in the second phase of the Sixth Upazila Parishad election, with notable losses in Cumilla and Gopalganj.

In Cumilla Sadar South Upazila, Golam Sarwar, younger brother of former Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal, finished third in the race for chairman. Sarwar, who is the President of Upazila Awami League and Vice President of Cumilla South District Awami League, had previously served three consecutive terms as upazila chairman. Abdul Hai Bablu, the organizational secretary of Cumilla Metropolitan Awami League, secured the chairman post with 20,863 votes. Independent candidate Mohammad Aktaruzzaman Ripon was the runner-up with 14,790 votes, while Sarwar garnered 14,314 votes.

Local sources attributed Sarwar's defeat to family disunity, lack of appreciation for party workers, and arrogance. Additionally, there was discontent over the perceived lack of development in Nangalkot, Lalmai, and Sadar South upazilas.

In Muksudpur Upazila, Gopalganj, Abul Kashem Raj, the candidate backed by Civil Aviation and Tourism Minister Lt. Colonel (retd.) Farooq Khan's daughter, also finished third. Raj received 28,542 votes, trailing behind Kabir Khan, who won the chairman post with 54,554 votes, and MM Mohiuddin Ahmed, who secured 42,811 votes. Farooq Khan's daughter, Kantara Khan, had actively campaigned for Raj since the election process began.

Other notable defeats included Billal Hossain Dipu Mia, cousin of MP Iqbal Hossain Apu, in Shariatpur Sadar, and MP Shah Sarwar Kabir's candidate in Gaibandha Sadar Upazila. Additionally, Abdur Rashid Shikder, the General Secretary of Upazila Awami League, defeated the candidate supported by MP Sagufta Yasmin Emily in Louhajang Upazila, Munshiganj.

Former MP defeated: Zafar Alam was elected Member of Parliament (MP) from Cox's Bazar-1 (Chakaria-Pekua) constituency in the 11th parliamentary election. But despite contesting the 12th parliamentary elections in 2024, he lost to Bangladesh Welfare Party Chairman Major General (Retd.) Syed Muhammad Ibrahim. After that defeat, this time he contested the upazila parishad election. But former MP Zafar Alam could not win here either. He contested from Chakaria upazila of Cox's Bazar and lost in the second phase of upazila elections.

5 leaders of Awami League defeated by the expelled leader of BNP: The expelled leader of BNP Mujibur Rahman Chowdhury Chefu won the post of chairman in the Nabiganj Upazila Parishad election by defeating five leaders of the district and upazila levels of Awami League. Analyzing the results, it can be seen that the winner of the Nabiganj upazila election, Mujibur Rahman Chowdhury Chefu of BNP got 25 thousand 159 votes in the shrimp fish symbol. Current chairman and former convener of Upazila Jubo League Fazlul Haque Chowdhury Salim contested with him. He got 21 thousand 751 votes in horse symbol.

Apart from this, district Awami League organizing secretary Sultan Mahmud got 20 thousand 563 votes, another district Awami League organizing secretary Nur Uddin Chowdhury Bulbul got 17 thousand 942 votes, former president of Upazila Awami League and UP chairman Imdadur Rahman Mukul got 17 thousand 47 votes and former general secretary of District Jubo League Borhan Uddin Chowdhury got 3 thousand 376 votes.

(The report was published on print and online versions of The Bangladesh Pratidin on May 23 and rewritten in English by Tanvir Raihan) ​​

Latest News